Small things

Jag har ju flera gånger klagat på bristen på tavlor och annat på väggarna i min extremt vita lägenhet. Man får ju inte röra väggarna här (bokstavligt talat då färgen är så känslig så kommer man emot den blir det smutsigt med en gång!) så ingenting blir ju särskilt hemtrevligt eller personligt. Jag har försökt lösa det med några små personliga samlingar här och där, samtidigt som jag lindrar hemlängtan med Sverigeprylar överallt.

I have complained numerous amounts of times about how ridiculous it is that you can’t put anything on the walls if you rent an apartment in this country. I hate my white walls, they are so impersonal and don’t give any kind of homey feeling. I’ve tried solving it with small personal collections here and there and at the same time I’ve managed to cure my homesickness with Swedish things all over the place.

20130616-195446.jpg
Här är till exempel min morbida hörna med en tavla som vi tagit med oss från Sverige, två små keramiktavlor köpta i Byron Bay (älskar anatomiska hjärtan) och min dödskallesamling bestående av en present från Sverige och olika köp runtomkring i Australien.

Here you have my morbid corner with a painting that we brought over from Sweden, two small ceramic paintings bought in Byron Bay (I love anatomical hearts) and my scull collection consisting of a gift from Sweden and purchases from all over Australia.

20130616-202639.jpg
På köksbänken tillsammans med mixern står min dalahästsamling; en present från mamma och en från min gudson. Rött och grönt verkar vara färgerna i vår lägenhet märker jag.

On the kitchen bench, together with the mixer, I have my collection of Swedish traditional wooden horses (called dala-horses). One is a gift from my mother and the other from my God son. Red and green seems to be popular colours in our apartment…

20130616-203045.jpg
På den rena (…) ugnen hänger en kökshandduk med Marianne Westmans picknickmotiv för Rörstrands. Ett motiv jag vuxit upp med, mormor hade massor med picknick delar som nu ligger i mitt förråd hemma i Göteborg. (Här ser ni även mig, väldigt fokuserad tagandes kortet.)

On the very clean (…) oven I have a tea towel from the Swedish designer Maria Westman, a painting called picnic which she made for a famous Swedish porcelain manufacturer back in 1950. I grew up with this pattern on my grandmother’s porcelain so it brings back memories.

20130616-203725.jpg
Och sist men inte minst, kylskåpet som ser ut precis som det gjorde hemma på Andra Långgatan. Ni finns alla med på ett eller annat sätt, bröllopsinbjudningar, dopkort, födelsedagskort och annat som skickats hit samt massor med bilder från alla otaliga photoboots jag hängt i sen jag kom hit.

And last but not least, my fridge and refrigerator which are packed with magnets and memories from Sweden and Australia, exactly as I’ve always had it, independent on where I lived. You are all here in one way or another; wedding invitations, christening cards, birthday cards and everything else that has been sent over plus loads of photos from the many photo boots I’ve hung out in since arriving.

Kommentera

